Sailing in Kachemak Bay

Distracted by movies and sugar skulls last night we accidentally stayed up until 4:30 in the morning.

Less than five hours later my alarm was going off and we were dragging ourselves out of bed. I woke up with a sore throat and feared that going out sailing in 55 degree weather was going to guarantee I’d get sick, but I feel fine.  We got bundled up in our jackets and scarves and headed in to town with Chelle and Charlotte. We rode in the back of the VW Bug which followed behind Linda and the family in their truck. They dropped us off at a artsy little coffee shop for an hour and a half while Gabi went to her horseback riding lessons.

Bagels and caffeine didn’t seem to be helping our morning delirium, neither did the plastic pigs and dinosaurs sitting next to the salt and pepper.

To avoid falling asleep in the booth we roamed around the store next door. I was easily amused by the fabric section which had Dr. Seuss prints.

I was tempted to buy this little guy for a certain someone but I already can’t figure out how I’m going to get everything home. While waiting to be picked up outside I had a wonderful phone conversation with my mom. Miss her constantly. Around 1:00 we were down on The Spit, unloading the kids and headed towards the sailboat.

It wasn’t long before I was rolling up my sleeves and submerging my arms in to the freezing water.  At one point I was vertical and not sure what was keeping me from falling in. Sam has a photo but the seam in my tights makes it look like my pants are four inches below where they should be so I’ll save myself the embarrassment.

The starfish wouldn’t let go.

I did have luck prying another one off of his post! I love sea life.

It’s been a couple years since I played with starfish. I was stupid excited. Little kid status. Sam and I ran down the dock to catch up with everyone since we were so mesmerized by the critters. We sailed for a few hours and it was beautiful and peaceful. Fog was lingering and the mountains were out of view but it was still wonderful. I felt so bad for Sam, she was scared at first and then sea sick. I climbed out on the bow and hung my feet over the edge. Multiple times we could see sea otters playing in the distance.

All the above photos are Sam’s or from her camera. Here are some of mine.

After sailing we went to a pizza shop on The Spit. The fog looked absolutely insane. A perfect line on the horizon.

Sam and I passed out when we got back. We woke up around 9:30 pm and sat down at our computers. We haven’t been up since and it’s 3:57 am. During that time we edited photos, watched Into The Wild, worked on sugar skulls and now we’re watching I Love You, Man. I cried my eyes out during Into The Wild. It makes me want to get all sappy and write an entry about life but I’ll save that for another day since I just realized how tired I am. We don’t have plans for tomorrow so maybe I’ll use the free time to post all those photos I mentioned and write about my thoughts on the movie. I’ll end with a stop motion I made from today. The song is Mr. Moon by Eisley. I’ve recently started listening to them and I like what I hear.

Goodnight.

Can’t believe I spent the longest day of the year in Alaska. What is my life.

Positive vibes.

Charlavail

17 thoughts on “Sailing in Kachemak Bay

  1. i love reading about your alaskan adventure. it’s been my dream to go there for years. and i’m glad that you’ve been getting close to chris mccandless. you should read the book “into the wild”–it’s so eerie and beautiful. also excited you started listening to eisley; they’re one of my favourite bands and constantly on repeat. excited to read more. love from england. xx

  2. Your Alaska trip seems to be very cool 🙂 I love all the pics, they’re not like all the other random vacation shoots! …Oh and I think the world want to see the vertical-embarrassment haha!

  3. I know how you feel about Into The Wild, I had that same feeling when I watched the movie. It’s an really inspiring movie about life and well, everything.

  4. :’) That’s amazing Vail! I Might try and watch Into the WIid but anyways that sounds very fun i hope sam’s okay now that must of sucked =( but anyways are you going to any of the warped tour dates when you get back? =)

    have fun!
    – love cyd

  5. The picture of you catching the starfish is hilarious!!
    That’s cool you’re doing a blog about your days here, it’s nice to read the posts 🙂
    Thinking of you every time i’m going to a boulangerie. Miss you and your mom!
    xx

  6. Eek, it looks too cold too early in the morning for sailing and water! I’ve lived in California, Florida and now Hawai’i but I have yet to see a real life star fish, let alone touch one! I am mega jealous!

  7. Alaska is a pretty cool place! I wish I could visit the place too someday! Enjoy the rest of your stay there. Sending some love from the Philippines! 🙂

  8. Hi!
    My name is Rita and I’m from Russia. I’ve been reading your tumblr a long time. I’m asking about a favor. I’m a big fan of Harry Potter and I’m going to Orlando this summer, don’t know exactly when: the end of july or august. I’m going all alone and I want to ask about company in Disney and universal. I know it’s weird and you don’t know me, but can you think about it?

Leave a Reply

